State of the Site Address

When I started Watermelon Banzai not even a little over two months ago I had but one goal in mind and that was, simply put, to support the synthwave scene. Through my reviews, interviews, and features I think that I have accomplished just that and more in such a short amount of time. I have networked, made friends, discovered acts and helped get them noticed, seen my readership, viewer count, and social media presence continue to grow to which I say to all of that: thank you.

If it wasn’t for you I wouldn’t be writing this right now, and you wouldn’t be reading it, because as much as the initial goal for this site was to support the synthwave scene it is amazing just how much support I have received back from them and others in turn. Truth be told, if it wasn’t for a select few who encouraged me and pushed me over that proverbial edge, I would have never even started out on this path. Yet the support never ended there at the starting line, as it continues to this very day, and therefore I wanted to take this time to make a very special announcement.

I was recently contacted by another music oriented website, Heavy Blog is Heavy, about joining their staff in order to write a monthly column that will highlight the synthwave scene for their readers. To say I was surprised, honored, and all sorts of other whirlwind emotions is an understatement. I am not usually one to be at a loss for words, but the fact that they enjoyed my work so much and saw fit to extend an offer such as this left me utterly speechless.

Thankfully, after about a day to take it all in, I did eventually find my words and accepted.

So, what does this mean for Watermelon Banzai? Nothing, really, as I plan to continue operations around here pretty much as normal but will now just have one additional avenue for doing what I’ve loved doing since I started: supporting the synthwave scene.

Now, as I keep alluding to throughout this poor attempt at a “press release,” I never got into this for personal gain but feel it’s important to acknowledge it when it happens and it never would have happened without your support. Therefore I will also never take that for granted, this is my promise to you, and I look forward to starting this next chapter in my adventure together with all of you very soon.

Again, and always, I thank you.

– Nikolai T. Nelson

